<p><strong>Joe C. Thompson Centennial Professor of Advertising &amp; Distinguished University Teaching Professor</strong><br />Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin (Marketing)<br />M.B.A., Texas Tech University (Marketing)<br />B.B.A., Texas Tech University (Marketing)<br /><br />Dr. Murphy's professional experience is on the media side of the industry, where he has worked in many capacities including advertising sales, marketing research, and strategic planning. His research interests include integrated brand promotion campaigns planning and media management with an emphasis on practical applications. He has published three advertising management textbooks and has a fourth under contract for publication in August 2010. His research articles have appeared in the Journal of Business, Journal of Business Research, Journal of Marketing, Journal of Advertising, Journal of Social Psychology, Journal of Experimental Education, Journal of Marketing Education, Journal of Consumer Affairs, and Journalism Quarterly, among others.<br /><br />Dr. Murphy has served on the Board of Directors of the American Advertising Federation, the Board of Directors of both the American Advertising Foundation and the Austin Advertising Federation. He has served as a member of UT's Faculty Council, the University of Texas Press Advisory Committee, the Texas Union, and Texas Student Media. He presently serves on the corporate Board of Directors of Business Suites (an Austin-based company operating in the office suites rental industry with properties in four states).<br /><br />Dr. Murphy is the Program Coordinator of the American Advertising Federation’s Vance and Betty Lee Stickell Student Internship Program. Established in 1988 with Dr. Murphy's help, the program matches outstanding students from universities around the country with host companies for a 10-week internship. The program has placed 193 honors students over the past 21 years. In the summer of 2011, 16 students participated in the program.</p><p>Dr. Murphy has received ten awards for outstanding teaching. He was elected to UT's Academy of Distinguished University Teachers in 1998. </p>

Author ID: 
Ektron ID: 
Author short name: 
Author first name: 
John H
Author last name: 
nav ID: